It’s not THAT big of a deal

When I first started writing about my adverse experiences and perception of trauma, I thought I was saying some pretty upsetting things about people, and it would get me in trouble. That’s just the trauma talking though. In fact, nobody cares.

Let me be clear on what I mean though.

I’m not trying to get attention. The truth is that I’m writing therapeutically for myself, just to explore the different facets of my psychological issues.

But I had an unhealthy world view when I started writing. I thought that I owed something to my abusers. I thought that me telling my stories would be an act of betrayal against them. After being abused, threatened, betrayed, over and over again, I got scared to tell anyone in case those people were upset by me.

Nobody caring is a mood, I get it. But for me, it’s a relief that I can express these difficult things publicly, and my world isn’t shattered. I can point the finger where it belongs, and I need not worry.

Equally important, I hope someone stumbles across this and gets their own courage. I hope I can lead someone down the same path, because I know I’m not alone.

Leave a comment

Broken Molars

Exploring trauma from different lenses