Above the law

So shortly after I started receiving help for my PTSD symptoms, I put my hand up for a different job. Life in the gun battery wasn’t conducive to treatment and wellness for me. Triggers everywhere.

I volunteered for a position in the headquarters battery in regimental operations. That was a very difficult job. The learning curve was steep, but I kept my head above water, and began to actually do pretty well.

There was this day, I feel like it was August or September. Anyways, this Lt. who worked for the department comes to me in front of all my coworkers. He asks me if I’d be interested in the CFR program. They want to make an officer out of me. I politely explained why not, and he said he asked me ‘because he had to’. The query came from above him. Someone is happy with my performance. By all indications, I’m doing alright in the job

One of the things I said to him was that I was not a good choice because I was having mental health problems. Again, this is in front of all my coworkers and direct supervisor.

In February 2011, the day I returned from a 90 day parental leave, they transferred me back to the gun battery. No reason given.

I went from a really senior position straight to ‘driver communicator’. That’s the lowest possible position someone of my rank could fill, and it was very embarrassing.

That was the beginning of the end for me. If I could have kept that position, I still would have been kicked out of the military for mental health, but at least I could have left with some dignity. Instead I had to parade my brokenness in front of all my peers.

So something interesting. Movements like this are approved and made by three people. My direct supervisor, the battery sargent major, and the battery commander. I know because these emails would cross my desk every day for me to change troops positions in software we used.

More on them later.

I didn’t know there was anything wrong with being demoted. I thought I had to just take it so I did. Fast forward several years and I look up the laws. Here’s what it says.

Upon returning from maternity or parental leave, your employer must reinstate you in your former position or give you a comparable position. This position should be in the same location and with the same wages and benefits.

So. A major, a master warrant officer and a warrant officer, and somehow none of them knew that was against the law? Not likely.

I researched laws. It’s a two year window to take legal action. Lawyers wouldn’t even meet with me.

I took it up with the Canadian Forces Ombudsman

I told them the exact same story. The reply I received was that there’s nothing here worth looking into.

Remember the people involved? The warrant officer? He’s a chief warrant officer today. The RSM of a regiment.

The major? She’s a colonel now and the CO of the same regiment.

They’re still out there, in the top authoritative positions.

This is part of the reason why I don’t identify as a veteran anymore. These two are veterans. They’re valued by the organization, they made it all the way to the top. These are the real soldiers. They can look back on a proud and full career and they will retire with full benefits. I was an insignificant piece of shit, and these two are exalted as great leaders.

Leave a comment

Broken Molars

Exploring trauma from different lenses