Not safe

It’s 2011. I’ve finally found some help for my PTSD and unfortunately, that means the army puts you on medical category. That means you don’t go to the field for training exercises. They also reduce your pay.

So I’m in 2RCHA E battery. There’s a field exercise and I cannot attend. The regiment does this thing. If you’re too ill or injured to go to the field, you sleep in the QM, doing crap jobs all day, with weapons.

It was their way of discouraging people from getting medical attention.

Anyway, I’m left as a supervisor for a few troops with problems. Did I mention that we had to carry weapons?

One guy under me has a medical note that says ‘No Firearms’. Everyone in the military knows that only gets written if the soldier is a threat to self or others. I don’t ask.

I get a phone call shortly before I go to get my rifle from the vault. It’s this guy’s boss. You will ensure this soldier gets a firearm when you get yours. And if you don’t, you will answer for it when we get back.

I remember saying yes, no, three bags full, and then keeping that one to myself. I never did find out why that sergeant disregarded the doctors note (he knew). That kid did not get a gun that week.

I’m not sure I can write anything that would make this any heavier. Soldiers were dying of suicide at an alarming rate, and this senior ncm is endangering peoples lives casually. My ten years in that unit really opened my eyes to just how evil and ill it really was.

I’m lucky I escaped with my life.

Leave a comment

Broken Molars

Exploring trauma from different lenses